Questions, questions, questions, flooding into the young minds today.

Call any vegetable
Call it by name
You’ve gotta call one today
When you get off the train
Call any vegetable
And the chances are good
The vegetable will respond to you
La La La La
The vegetable will respond to you
La La La La

Call any vegetable
Pick up your phone
Think of a vegetable
Lonely at home
Call any vegetable
And the chances are good
The vegetable will respond to you
La La La La
The vegetable will respond to you
La La La La
Rutabaga, Rutabaga, Rutabaga, Rutabaga, Rutaba…

No one will know
If you don’t want to let them know
No one will know
‘less it’s you that might tell them so
Call and they’ll come to you
Smiling and covered with dew
Vegetable dream
Vegetable dream
Vegetable dream of responding to you

Standing there shiny and proud by your side
Holding your joint while the neighbors decide
Why is a vegetable something to hide
TO HIDE, TO HIDE, TO HIDE,…

Shooo, Shooo, Shoo, Shoo ….
You know a lot of people don’t bother about there friends in the vegetable kingdom. They, they think: What can I say? Some times they think: Where can I go?
Where can I go to get my poodle clipped in Burbank?
At Ralph’s vegetarian poodle clippin’, where you can come this…
Where can I go to get organic Vaseline for my ????
At Bob and Ray’s Swahili restaurant, where you can come this close…..
Where can I go to get my jeans embroided at Fullerton?…..
At jeans, at Jeans North where nothing fits
Where can I go to get my zipper repaired in Hollywood?
Who gives the fuck anyway
Where can I go to get my speakers fixed?
Where can I go to get my exit lights?,
At Jack LaLane Hamburgers on 312 Woodier(?) Boulevard.
Where can I go to get my stomach pumped?
Where can I go to collapse
Hey, De-due.

Questions, Questions, Questions, flooding into the mind of the concerned young person today. Ah, but it’s a great time to be alive ladies and gentlemen. And that’s the theme of our program for tonight, “It’s so FUCKING GREAT to be alive”! Is what the theme of our show is tonight, boys and girls. And I’m wanna tell ya, if there is anybody here who DOESN’T believe that it is FUCKING GREAT to be alive, I wish that they go now, because this show will only bring them down so much… ]

God Bless America
Land that I love
Call any vegetable
Call it by name
You’ve gotta call one today
When you get off the train
Call any vegetable
And the chances are good
Oh, that the vegetable will respond to you

And if you are a consenting adult we want you to call today in Los Angeles, the number is Richmond9-6935 , in Downey it’s 347-8932.

Call it direct,
Call it collect,
But call it today.

What a first song of the concert. As I sat in the seat at the Polypovilian at UCLA I was asking myself, What the hell am I doing here. I had listened to several of the Mothers of Invention albums and my friend said let go. I remember driving up in my old Dodge Valiant four door with 3 on the tree. Had a 318 V-8 and sucked gas but then I was getting gas for $.19 cents to $.21 cents a gallon. Didn’t have factory A/C  but it had this aftermarket A/C unit sitting on the hum in the front seat area. It got so cold it would blow frost out the vents. Driving to UCLA was pretty cool since it was completely out of my area of where I’ve driven before. The city was so clean and people were walking around like a down town type area. Saw so many different looking people then I was use to seeing. When we got inside we had to find our seat and were looking at all the people going to the concert. One guy was dressed to look like Frank Zappa with a top hat. For me this was all new but everyone there was acting like this was just normal day. They had a break after two hours. By this time I wanted to hear more. Mark Volman and Howard Kaylan were signing. They were from the 60’s group, “The Turtles” if you remember back then. They did some top ten songs like, “Happy Together, Green Tambourine, You ain’t me babe, Elenore.” Several other people did their song or you might have heard them on a TV ad. I’d have to say, “Happy Together,” was one of the bigger hits. They been in so many places, movies and things. You hear a few notes from that song and your starting to sing it.So, they were new to the band. It was great they made a record album of that concert for me to remember. I know one of my friend barrowed that album and never gave it back but I didn’t want it back because it had been played so much the grooves were gone. The second half of the concert was a build up to the end song, “Happy Together. By this time I didn’t want the music to stop. I was really entertained. I was so amazed at what I heard and how it was presented. It was just fantastic. This concert was which I based all other concerts to. It had to live up to the standard of a Frank Zappa concert. Not long after that I saw Mark and Howard at the Golden Bear in Huntington Beach. I really had a great time there and they played a few of the Zappa song and the Flo and Eddie songs. They had a band Flo and Eddie. I don’t remember if there was anyone else playing with them other then seeing Mark and Howard on stag. They had such a good stag presents and all your focus was on them. I got to see Frank and a few other places like the Hollywood Bowl. I had great seat there up front in one of the boxes with my friends. I think I saw him twice there. Another time I heard this Asian guy was playing Zappa. Little did I know he was the conductor and it was a full orchestra. That was cool and I have the bootleg album of that. It was a red disc. I remember seeing the Door, Tim Buckley and Frank Zappa at the Hollywood Bowl. Tim Buckley was someone Frank products. Tim was sort of booed off the stag. The Door didn’t do much better, everyone was there to see Frank. Was such a mix of people there. Those were the days when you could walk up to the window and buy a ticket for under ten bucks and get good seats. Saw Jethro Tull at the Long Beach Arena. Me and my friends sat behind the stage and the ticket was around eight dollars. The concert was just starting and the warm up band was on. How cool is that.

This entry was posted in music-concerts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.